Finale

June 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

On reflection, Net Communications has taught me that there is far more to the Internet than I initially thought.

I realized that there has been immense effort put in to make the Internet what it is today, in the form that our world tends to take for granted, and this subject has opened my eyes to this and numerous other issues that we, as a society, should probably be more aware of.

Practically instantaneous information at your fingertips – about anything, anyone… the Internet has the capacity to find an answer for almost any question you throw at it, and this makes it an invaluable resource for which we could be more thankful for than we currently are. Being able to “google” something, find something on Wikipedia, or “stalk” people on Facebook, we are not only able to get answers, but we are inundated with choice for how we go about it.

When I told my dad about this subject and my intended Media major, he decided to call it “University 2.0”, and while at the time I thought of it as just another dad joke, I understand some of his reasoning. The study of the Internet is a different type of subject to those with science, history and numbers-based content. It is both subjective and objective at the same time, constantly changing, and yet intrinsic to the way in which we live today.

So, daggy as it may sound, Net Communications may just be part of the beginning to a new generation of uni subjects that teach us about the Internet, things that should really become general knowledge for those of use who use it every day of our lives.

 

Thanks for reading!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Finale at rachelryan2011.

meta